Garden Update: winter vegetables, peppers and seed saving.

Winter vegetables, peppers and seed saving have been the focus in the garden lately.

The Serrano pepper is trying for one last “hooray” before he calls it a day. I find it quit amusing the plant is all stems except for a cluster of flowers.
…grow little pepper, grow!

I was surprised and delighted when I noticed the lime tree not only has that lone fruit but he’s starting to bloom again. There’s several single blooms and a cluster of 4-5 buds. I know that citrus season is during the cooler months but these are young trees still so I’m just tickled pink about it! …hehe!

The acorn squash bloomed but I’m still not going to get too excited. Why? See the mildew on the leaves? Not good, too many damp mornings. Maybe he needs morning sun to dry his leaves faster? I’m not sure, what do you think?

acorn squash flower

The peas!! The peas finally started to flower and is growing pea pods like a boss! Doesn’t the pea flower remind you of a cobra snake, or is it just me?
…Can’t. Wait. To. Eat. Them!!

And lastly, my first “winter” (it’s in the 80’s here) harvest. Lemon peppers, one Serrano and one Shishito. A handful of purple green beans, a couple of wax beans, some radishes and dead Zinnia flowers so I can save the seeds. Not too bad, huh? :)

harvest

Categories: The new Vegetable Patch | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Garden Update: winter vegetables, peppers and seed saving.

  1. Hi, I am myself a new gardner and a new blogger. Lovely stuff, I was facing the same problem with my zucchini, 6 of my fully grown up plants died. I am trying a new batch now. they are ok so far.
    Do check my blog too.
    http://seedgerminator.wordpress.com/

    HAPPY GERMINATING

  2. I am NO veggie garden expert but they say that a mix of four teaspoons of baking soda and one teaspoon liquid dish soap (suggested Dawn or Ivory) mixed into one gallon of water. Give it a go, can’t hurt :). Got the info here. You can also use 1/4 cup milk in 3/4 cup water sprayed on the leaves but apparently the baking soda and diswashing detergent killed the mould in a week so I would go with that. Heres where I got it from…

    http://voices.yahoo.com/get-rid-white-fuzzy-spots-zucchini-plant-leaves-8762103.html?cat=32

    LOVE the peas and they look like Audrey 2 from Little Shop of Horrors to me ;). Your winter harvest is probably going to be bigger than my summer harvest as I got the plants in very late this year but whatchagonnadoeh? ;).

  3. Try spraying the squash, or anything with powdery mildew for that matter, with milk. If you catch it early enough it might help. :)

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

